skip to main content

5 Rogel members named 2022 AAAS fellows

Date Visible: 
02/01/2023 - 1:30pm

Media contact: Nicole Fawcett 734-764-2220 | Patients may contact Cancer AnswerLine™ 800-865-1125

Prestigious designation recognizes scientific achievements spanning an individual’s career

Thomas Carey, Joerg Lahann, Marina Pasca di Magliano, Donna Martin, Duxin Sun

From left to right: Thomas Carey, Ph.D.; Joerg Lahann, Ph.D.; Marina Pasca di Magliano, Ph.D.; Donna Martin, M.D., Ph.D.; Duxin Sun, Ph.D.

Photo courtesy Michigan Medicine

Five University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center members were elected as 2022 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They are among 17 University of Michigan faculty and staff members elected this year.

AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals, announced that 506 scientists, engineers and innovators have been chosen for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements.

“AAAS is proud to elevate these standout individuals and recognize the many ways in which they’ve advanced scientific excellence, tackled complex societal challenges and pushed boundaries that will reap benefits for years to come,” said Sudip Parikh, Ph.D., AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals.

The Rogel fellows are:

Thomas Carey, Ph.D., distinguished research scientist emeritus and professor emeritus of otolaryngology and of pharmacology in the Medical School, for distinguished contributions to the field of otolaryngology, particularly for his research on the mechanisms of autoimmune hearing loss mediated by antibodies to inner ear antigens.

Joerg Lahann, Ph.D., the Wolfgang Pauli Collegiate Professor of Chemical Engineering and professor of biomedical engineering, of materials science and engineering, and of macromolecular science and engineering in the College of Engineering, for distinguished contributions to the field of polymeric materials engineering, particularly biointerfaces prepared using chemical vapor polymerization.

Marina Pasca di Magliano, Ph.D., the Maude T. Lane Professor of Surgical Immunology, and professor of surgery and of cell and developmental biology in the Medical School, for distinguished contributions to the field of cancer biology, particularly tumors of the pancreas, and for leadership in graduate and postgraduate education and training.

Donna Martin, M.D., Ph.D., the Ravitz Foundation Endowed Professor of Pediatrics, professor of pediatrics and of human genetics in the Medical School, for distinguished contributions to the field of developmental neuroscience, particularly for modeling epigenetic disorders to treat human disease.

Duxin Sun, Ph.D., the Charles Walgreen Jr. Professor of Pharmacy, and professor of pharmaceutical sciences in the College of Pharmacy, for distinguished contributions in drug development, nanomedicine and pharmacokinetics.

Read about other University of Michigan fellows.